News & Press

AGS Honors Expert & Emerging Geriatrics Leaders at 2017 Annual Scientific Meeting

New York (April 27, 2017)—Celebrating its seventy-fifth anniversary in 2017, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) announced that it will honor more than 15 leading researchers, clinicians, educators, and emerging health professionals who have made outstanding contributions to high-quality, person-centered care for older adults. Awards will be presented at the AGS 2017 Annual Scientific Meeting, May 18-20, 2017 (pre-conference program on May 17), at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas.

Choosing Wisely® Champion Award

  • Eric Anthony Lee, MD

Clinician of the Year Award

  • Fatima Sheikh, MD, CMD, MPH

Clinical Student Research Award

  • Laura Hatchman
  • Jessica Rizzuto

David H. Solomon Memorial Public Service Award

  • Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, AGSF

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

  • Maura Brennan, MD, AGSF, FACP, FAAHPM, HMDC

Edward Henderson Award

  • Richard M. Allman, MD

Edward Henderson Student Award

  • Thom Ringer, JD, MPhil

Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical and Related Medical Specialties

  • Anne M. Suskind, MD, MS

New Investigator Award

  • Andrew Cohen, MD, DPhil
  • Lorena Gonzalez, MD
  • Benjamin Han, MD, MPH
  • Supakanya Wongrakpanich, MD

Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

  • Kristen Thornton, MD, FAAFP, CWSP, AGSF

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

  • Dae Kim, MD, MPH, ScD

Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

  • Halima Amjad, MD, MPH

Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award

  • Lisa Walke, MD, AGSF

Presidential Poster Session Awards

  • Case Series and Case Studies: Christian Bergman, MD
  • Clinical Innovation and Quality Improvement: Neema Sharda, MD
  • Clinical Trials: Erika Ramsdale, MD
  • Epidemiology: Cathleen Colon-Emeric, MD, FACP, MHSc, AGSF
  • Ethics & Qualitative Research: Elizabeth Bloemen
  • Geriatric Bioscience: Mariann Gabrawy, MS
  • Geriatric Education: Katherine Bennett, MD
  • Geriatric Medicine in Other Specialties: Pasithorn Suwanabol, MD
  • Geriatric Syndromes: Karishma Patel, MD
  • Health Services and Policy Research: Kathleen Unroe, MD, MHA, AGSF
  • Neurologic & Behavioral Science: Mary Ehlman, MD

Scientist-in-Training Research Award

  • Andrea E. Daddato, MS

Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation

  • Sei Lee, MD, MAS

About the American Geriatrics Society

Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals that has—for 75 years—worked to improve the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Its nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists. The Society provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policymakers, and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. For more information, visit

About the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting

The AGS Annual Scientific Meeting is the premier educational event in geriatrics, providing the latest information on clinical care, research on aging, and innovative models of care delivery. More than 2,500 nurses, pharmacists, physicians, physician assistants, social workers, long-term care and managed care providers, healthcare administrators, and others will convene May 18-20, 2017 (pre-conference program on May 17), at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas, to advance geriatrics knowledge and skills through state-of-the-art educational sessions and research presentations. For more information, visit

April 27, 2017