Silverstein Award

The Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical and Related Medical Specialties that are Focused on the Care of Older Adults was established in 2017.  This award recognizes emerging investigators in the surgical and related medical specialties whose research—as evidenced by a submitted abstract—is focused on geriatrics aspects of their specialty and who are committed to a career in aging research.

The first Silverstein Memorial Award was presented at the 2017 AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

2017 Recipient – Anne M. Suskind, MD, MS
Dr. Suskind is an Assistant Professor of Urology at UCSF acknowledged for fusing her specialist expertise in urology with high-quality, person-centered principles of geriatrics.  Dr. Suskind presented on results from a study of more than 37,000 nursing home residents who underwent minor urologic surgery. Her work highlights the importance of weighing risks and benefits for any type of surgery, no matter how small, for older adults.


Our sincere thanks to the award supporters:

Sheila Barnett
Kevin Biese
John R. Burton
Christopher R. Carpenter
Jeffrey  M. Caterino
George W. Drach
Evelyn C. Granieri
Jerry H. Gurwitz
Michael Harper
Teresita Hogan
Christopher G. Hughes
Ula Hwang
Jason M. Johanning
Mark R. Katlic
Maura Kennedy
Badrinath Konety
Andrew G. Lee and Hilary Beaver
Nancy E. Lundebjerg
Brian J. McKinnon
Simon C. Mears
Myron Miller
Kevin Munjal
Mark David Neuman
Kourosh Parham
Adam Perry
Peter Pompei
Jane R. Potter
Rajeev Ramchandran
Scott E. Regenbogen
Anthony E. Rosen
Kenneth E. Schmader
Margaret (Gretchen) L. Schwarze
Manish N. Shah
George E. Taffet
Louise Walter
Scott Wilber