Yoshikawa Award

The Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation was established in 2016 to recognize the Yoshikawas’ years of dedicated service to the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society and the field of geriatrics.

The Yoshikawa Award recognizes exceptional contributions to clinical research addressing the health problems of older adults by an investigator who is actively involved in direct patient care and whose research has been published in JAGS.

The first annual Yoshikawa Award was presented at the 2017 AGS Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

2017 Recipient – Sei Lee, MD, MAS
Dr. Lee is Associate Professor in the Division of Geriatrics at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and a Senior Scholar with the San Francisco VA Quality Scholars fellowship. He is a rising research leader in targeting health care for older adults. Dr. Lee devised the “Lee Index,” an innovative mortality prediction index for measuring function among older adults. Dr. Lee gave a plenary lecture on individualizing preventative care for older men and women during the 2017 AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.


Our sincere thanks to the award supporters:

Cathy Alessi
William Applegate
Linda Hiddemen Barondess
Dan Berlowitz
Shalender Bhasin
Ellen Binder
Patricia Blanchette
Soo Borson
Cynthia Boyd
Suzanne Bradley
Cynthia Brown
Kenneth Brummel-Smith
John Burton
Christopher Carpenter
Steven Castle
Joshua Chodosh
Elizabeth Cobbs
Leo Cooney
Kenneth Covinsky
Heather D’Adamo
Vinod Dhawan
Catherine DuBeau
Veronica Engle
Lois Evans
Thomas Finucane
Terry Fulmer
David Ganz
Thomas Gill
Carol Goodwin
Shelly Gray
Kevin High
Judith Howe
Sharon Inouye
Richard Jones
Robert Kane
Carol Kauffman
Ann Kolanowski
Seth Landefeld
Cathy Lee
Sean Leng
Lewis Lipsitz
Nancy Lundebjerg
Michael Malone
Nicolas Musi
Mary Beth O’Connell
Joseph Ouslander
Robert Palmer
Mary Happel Palmer
William Reichel
David Reuben
Michael Rich
Debra Saliba
Kenneth Schmader
Todd Semla
Manish Shah
Kenneth Shay
Linda Sohn
Gail Sullivan
Mark Supiano
Bruce Troen
Gwen Uman
Joseph Verghese
Gwen Yeo
Thomas and Catherine         Yoshikawa