Recognize Achievements and Leadership

With generous support from our members, donors, and partners, we recognize distinguished achievements in our field with special awards advancing clinical care and geriatrics research. Each award honors past and emerging leaders in the field.

Health in Aging Foundation New Investigator Awards
The New Investigator Awards are presented to individuals whose original research, as presented in a submitted abstract for an AGS Annual Scientific Meeting, reflects new and relevant research in geriatrics. The award is designed to recognize individuals who are committed to a career in aging research.

Learn more about current and past New Investigator Award recipients here.

Thomas and Catherine Yoshikawa Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Clinical Investigation
Named in honor of Dr. Thomas T. Yoshikawa and his wife, Catherine—who together served the AGS and the geriatrics community for more than two decades—the Yoshikawa Award offers recognition and financial support to emerging eldercare scholars who represent the early promise of the Yoshikawas’ own illustrious career.

The award, which includes a $2,000 honorarium, has been supported through 2032 thanks to generous support from AGS members and countless friends and colleagues of Dr. and Mrs. Yoshikawa.

Learn more about current and past Yoshikawa Award recipients here.

Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical and Related Medical Specialties that are Focused on the Care of Older Adults
The Silverstein Memorial Award was established in 2017 in honor of Jeffrey H. Silverstein, an early leader of the AGS Geriatrics-for-Specialists Initiative (GSI). Open to junior and mid-career investigators from a variety of surgical and related medical specialties, the Silverstein Award recognizes emerging investigators whose research is focused on the role of geriatrics expertise in their specialties, and who are committed to careers in aging research.

Learn more about current and past Silverstein Memorial Award recipients here.